• Pretty Bird - Kathy Mattea

Hailed by The Washington Post as "one of Nashville's finest song interpreters," Kathy Mattea has enjoyed the kind of success many artists only dream of: two Grammy wins, four CMA Awards, four #1 country singles, and five hold albums (plus a platinum collection of her greatest hits). 

The dream almost ended though when Mattea entered her 50s and began to find her voice changing. What followed was a three year journey through life challenges and vocal glitches that she describes as her "dark night of the soul," a trying time of personal anguish and professional uncertainty that threatened to silence her permanently. 

Instead, Mattea dug in with a vocal coach, re-committed to her music, and emerged with the most poignant album of her career, Pretty Bird. Working with her old friend, music roots wizard Tom O'Brien, producing, Pretty Bird is a chronicle of her journey, song by song, back to singing for the sheer joy of it. It's an emotional, moving collection, one that draws it's strength not only from Mattea's touching performances, but also from her uncanny ability to weave seemingly disparate material into a cohesive whole. 

From a playful take on Oliver Wood's Chocolate On My Tongue to a tender rendition of Mary Gauthier's Mercy Now, from a British traditional to a Bobbie Gentry classic, these are the songs that helped Mattea reclaim her voice, and she inhabits each as fully as if it were her own.

  1. Chocolate on My Tongue
  2. Ode to Billie Joe
  3. Mercy Now
  4. Little Glass of Wine
  5. He Moves Through the Fair
  6. St. Teresa
  7. This Love Will Carry
  8. October Song
  9. Tell Me What You Ache for
  10. Holy Now
  11. I Can't Stand Up Alone
  12. Pretty Bird

Pretty Bird - Kathy Mattea

  • Artist: Mattea, Kathy
  • Product Code: 752830289277
  • Availability: Stock Available
  • £12.99

Tags: Pretty Bird Kathy Mattea

The product is currently Out-of-Stock. Enter your email address below and we will notify you as soon as the product is available.