Product Code: 644216966790
Available: Yes

The Dirt and the Stars is the follow-up to Mary Chapin Carpenter's 2018 album Sometimes Just the Sky

Five-time Grammy-winner Mary Chapin Carpenter's 15th studio album finds the singer-songwriter pondering life's intimate, personal moments and exploring it's most universally challenging questions at an unprecedented time. Written at her rural Virginia farmhouse before stay-at-home orders became the 'new normal', the songs celebrate invaluable experiences and irreplaceable wisdom, while also advocating exploration of the best in all of us. 

Produced by Ethan Johns (Ray LaMontagne, Paul McCartney, Kings of Leon) and recorded at Peter Gabriel's Real World Studios in Bath, in southwestern England, The Dirt And The Stars marks Carpenter's first collection of all-new material since 2016's The Things That We Are Made Of.


  1. Farther Along and Further in
  2. It's Ok to Be Sad
  3. All Broken Hearts Break Differently
  4. Old D-35
  5. American Stooge
  6. Where the Beauty Is
  7. Nocturne
  8. Secret Keepers
  9. Asking for a Friend
  10. Everybody's Got Something
  11. Between the Dirt and the Stars


Tags: The Dirt and the Stars Mary Chapin Carpenter