Product Code: 816651014279
Available: Yes

When a young Merle Haggard played in Buck Owens' band, he suggested the name Buckaroos for the combo. While Merle's tenure in the band was shortlived, he did pretty well for himself afterward. And The Buckaroos name not only stuck, but the band became almost as notable as their leader. Their playing became as noticeable as Buck's distinct songwriting and delivery.

So, it was only natural that The Buckaroos first LP would be a tribute to their leader. The Buck Owens Songbook was released in 1965 and gave fans a chance to sing along with their favorite Buck hits with The Buckaroos as their backing group. Six years and 10 albums later saw the band pay tribute on their last LP to the man who named them. The Songs Of Merle Haggard appeared in 1971, and featured The Buckaroos instrumental take on classics like Mama Tried and Okie From Muskogee.

These two releases are now joined together on The Buckaroos Play Buck & Merle paying tribute to the leading pioneers of the Bakersfield Sound.


  1. I've Got A Tiger By The Tail
  2. Together Again
  3. Before You Go
  4. Second Fiddle
  5. Don't Let Her Know
  6. My Heart Skips A Beat
  7. Act Naturally
  8. Only You (Can Break My Heart)
  9. Love's Gonna Live Here
  10. Under Your Spell Again
  11. Foolin' Around
  12. I Don't Care (Just As Long As You Love Me)
  13. Daddy Frank (The Guitar Man)
  14. Today I Started Loving You Again
  15. The Fightin' Side Of Me
  16. Silver Wings
  17. Okie From Muskogee
  18. The Legend Of Bonnie And Clyde
  19. Hungry Eyes
  20. Swinging Doors
  21. I Take A Lot Of Pride In What I Am
  22. Mama Tried


Tags: The Buckaroos Play Buck & Merle The Buckaroos