Product Code: 877746004704
Available: Yes

Martha Spencer is a singer-songwriter, mountain musician and dancer from the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. She grew up in the musical Spencer family and from a very young age has been dancing (flatfoot/clogging), singing, and playing guitar, fiddle, banjo, bass, dulcimer, and mandolin. 

Over two-days in July 2019, Never Met A Stranger conducted an intimate recording session with Martha at a farmhouse in Grassy Creek, North Carolina. Of this session, Martha writes: "These recordings are dedicated to a lot of strong women I was influenced by growing up in my family and community around Whitetop Mountain, VA.

Many of the songs are ones I remember hearing my mom sing and play on the banjo. My cousins Audrey Hash Ham and Ola Belle Reed, Granny Della Reedy (Albert Hash's mom), and the Carter Family all inspired me to learn different songs that we've recorded for this album. Wayne Henderson, Doc Watson and Larry Sigmon all ring out through my heart and mind too in some of the picking."


  1. As the Sparrow Goes
  2. Granny Reedy's Song
  3. Crazy Heart
  4. Intoxicated Rat
  5. Over Yonder in the Graveyard
  6. Late Last Night
  7. Wind and Rain
  8. Somewhere Listening
  9. Soldier and the Lady
  10. Poison to Me
  11. Sinful to Flirt
  12. Banks of Old Tennessee
  13. Things in Life
  14. You've Been a Friend to Me
  15. Roll on Liza Jane


Tags: Field Recordings From Grassy Creek Martha Spencer