Product Code: 889853181025
Available: Yes

By 1976, Elvis Presley's association with RCA Records had reached it's 20-year mark. While this tenure resulted in some of the most important records in rock and roll history, Presley - now 40 years old and having spent much of his time working in recording studios - was anxious for a change and eager for a less formal recording experience. 

Seeking alternatives to maintain Elvis' renewed showings on the country and adult contemporary charts, the decision was made to convert the "Jungle Room" a room in Elvis' Graceland estate, so named for it's exotic decor into an informal studio. With the help of RCA's mobile recording truck and longtime producer Felton Jarvis at the helm, Presley would sporadically record in the "Jungle Room" throughout 1976. 

Far from hastily realized material, Elvis would tackle a far-ranging mix of country and pop covers (Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain, I'll Never Fall in Love Again, Danny Boy, Solitaire) and late-period classics of the Elvis Presley catalog, such as Moody Blue and Way Down. In it's own special way, these sessions anticipated a bridge between the bloom of Nashville's Music Row in the '60s and '70s and the low-fidelity, intimate, DIY-style recordings like Bruce Springsteen's stark Nebraska

Way Down In The Jungle Room recontextualizes these sessions across two discs, presenting original master takes with rare alternates and showcasing Presley's brilliant final act. The change of setting did nothing to inhibit the power of these magnificent recordings, and Way Down In The Jungle Room shines a proper light on his achievements The King of Rock and Roll, at peace in his castle but with no intention of abdicating his throne.

Disc 1

  1. Way Down
  2. She Thinks I Still Care
  3. Bitter They Are, Harder They Fall
  4. Pledging My Love
  5. For the Heart
  6. Love Coming Down
  7. He'll Have to Go
  8. Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain
  9. Hurt
  10. Never Again
  11. Danny Boy
  12. Solitaire
  13. Moody Blue
  14. It's Easy for You
  15. I'll Never Fall In Love Again
  16. The Last Farewell


Disc 2

  1. Bitter They Are, Harder They Fall (Take 1)
  2. She Thinks I Still Care (Take 10)
  3. The Last Farewell (Take 2)
  4. Solitaire (Take 7)
  5. I'll Never Fall In Love Again (Take 5)
  6. Moody Blue (Take 1)
  7. For the Heart (Take 1)
  8. Hurt (Take 3)
  9. Danny Boy (Take 9)
  10. Never Again (Take 9)
  11. Love Coming Down (Take 3)
  12. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain (Take 4)
  13. She Thinks I Still Care ((Alternate Version) [Take 2])
  14. It's Easy for You (Take 1)
  15. Way Down (Take 2)
  16. Pledging My Love (Take 3)
  17. For the Heart (Take 4)

Tags: Way Down In The Jungle Room 40th Anniversary 2xCD Elvis Presley