Product Code: 607396572519
Available: Yes

Take a look at the cover of Rodney Crowell's brilliant new album, The Chicago Sessions, and you might recognize a familiar callback to the legendary songwriter's 1978 debut.

"In a lot of ways, this album feels like that very first record to me," Crowell reflects. "When my daughter Chelsea suggested we lay the artwork out similarly, the connection made perfect sense.

There's something very simple, very innocent about it.

It's just me and the band in a room together, loose and live and having fun."

Produced by Wilco's Jeff Tweedy, The Chicago Sessions is indeed a throwback to Crowell's early days of making records, but it's no nostalgia trip.

The songs here are vital and timely, touching on everything from love and mortality to race and religion, and the performances are nothing short of intoxicating, fueled by raw guitars, honky-tonk piano, and tight, punchy drums.


  1. Lucky
  2. Somebody Loves You
  3. Loving You Is The Only Way To Fly
  4. You're Supposed To Be Feeling Good
  5. No Place To Fall
  6. Oh Miss Claudia
  7. Everything At Once
  8. Ever The Dark
  9. Making Lovers Out Of Friends


Tags: The Chicago Sessions Rodney Crowell