Product Code: 634457215924
Available: Yes

The second in a string of rapid-fire releases from Nashville songwriting guru Jim Lauderdale, Honey Songs is a gathering of mythical music proportions, with his band the aptly named Dream Players.

For The Dream Players, Lauderdale pulled together big name friends and session royalty for this album full of rambling, soon-to-be country classics.

Legendary Elvis Presley guitarist James Burton is featured on lead guitar along with Springsteen's E Street Band bassist, Gary Tallent. Flying Burrito Brother Al Perkins lays down timeless pedal and lap steel alongside the piano of superstar sideman Glen D. Hardin (Merle Haggard, Roy Orbison, Elvis Presley, Dean Martin).

Holding down the backbeat for the Dream Players, drummer Ron Tutt has to be the only man with the distinction of playing with both Elvises - Presley and Costello.

The big names don't end with the instruments, backing vocalists include Emmylou Harris (I'm Almost Back), Patty Loveless (Hittin' It Hard), Buddy Miller and Kelly Hogan.

  1. Honey Suckle Honey Pie
  2. I Hope You're Happy
  3. Hittin' It Hard
  4. It's Finally Sinkin' In
  5. Borrow Some Summertime
  6. Daughters Of The Majestic Sage
  7. Molly's Got A Chain
  8. Those Kinds Of Things Don't Happen Every Day
  9. Stingray
  10. I'm Almost Back

Tags: Honey Songs (with the Dream Players) Jim Lauderdale