Product Code: 829305002027
Available: Yes

Bluegrass king Del McCoury recorded his first album in a Pennsylvania basement with two borrowed bass players and a German-born aristocrat producing. The label released Del McCoury Sings Bluegrass 50 years ago, and although the singer-guitarist emerged from the cellar long ago, echoes of that first outing have inspired his latest release: Del McCoury Still Sings Bluegrass.

Due out Friday, May 25th, just in time for the kick-off of DelFest, his annual festival in Western Maryland, McCoury's new album honors the Bill Monroe-Earl Scruggs tradition that dominated his first album, but these days he frequently tweaks the old sounds and welcomes the new. 

This time around he drops an electric guitar into Shawn Camp's rocker Hot Wired and girds the Jerry Lee Lewis country classic To Make Love Sweeter for You with a barrelhouse piano, an instrument that remains as heretical in mainstream bluegrass as the electric guitar.

  1. Hot Wired
  2. That Ol Train
  3. Letters Have No Arms
  4. First One Back in Town
  5. Build It Up
  6. Bottom Dollar
  7. Deep Dark Hollow Road
  8. Ace of Hearts
  9. To Make Love Sweeter for You
  10. Joe
  11. Love Love Love
  12. I'll Be on My Way
  13. You Could Be Me
  14. I Fell in Love

Tags: Still Sings Bluegrass Del McCoury