• State Of Heartbreak E.P. - Joey Allcorn

Back in 2006, Joey Allcorn released his debut record. 50 Years Too Late it was called. He has a point.

These crowd-funded tunes on his new, limited edition EP, four originals and two covers, are faithful recreations of the traditional 'Bakersfield' sound, and yet more, so much more.

If these had been found in some dusty basement, you wouldn't have been surprised, but to have the likes of the title track as a new song is truly phenomenal. The musicianship here is perfect. Eddie Dunlap's Lap Steel and Hank Singer's Fiddle are so, so good.

And the words too, somehow they tap into that feeling of lost innocent times. Same Ol' Blues is catchy, but entirely in keeping with the early 50s feel, like he's just been dumped at the drive in cinema or something.

50 years too late? Make that 60 these days, I suppose, but State Of Heartbreak is truly both lovely and wonderful. ~ MaximumVolumeMusic.com

  1. State Of Heartbreak
  2. Same Ol' Blues
  3. Lefty Was Right
  4. Your Time's Comin'
  5. Ramblin' Man '27
  6. Where Did You Sleep Last Night

State Of Heartbreak E.P. - Joey Allcorn

  • Artist: Allcorn, Joey
  • Product Code: 193-250
  • Availability: Stock Available
  • £11.99

Tags: State Of Heartbreak EP Joey Allcorn

The product is currently Out-of-Stock. Enter your email address below and we will notify you as soon as the product is available.