• Hats Off To Haggard - JD Crowe & Rickey Wasson

JD Crowe and Rickey Wasson have teamed up to share their love of Merle Haggard's music in the newest project on the Truegrass Entertainment label – Hats Off To Haggard

In March of 2014 JD and Rickey gathered together some of bluegrass music's finest musicians including Dan Tyminski, Stuart Duncan, Mark Fain, and Harry Stinson to lay the music tracks at Hilltop Recording Studios in Nashville, TN.  Rickey added the lead vocals at his own studio in Clay City, KY, and as they were recording the tracks theye thought it would be really neat if Merle Haggard would write a comment or two about the project.  

A copy was sent to him and he agreed to sing a song on the project. In a few weeks, they received vocal tracks of the one and only Hag.  They then added vocal harmonies from Alison Krauss, Dan Tyminski, and Suzanne Cox and in 2016 began working with Steve Chandler to mix the project.

The mixing started on April 5, 2016 and didn't get finalized until April 6, 2016 at 1:08 a.m. when they saved the final copy of When My Last Song Is Sung and shut the computer down. The next morning they woke up to the news that one of the greatest country singers of all time, Merle Haggard, had passed away.  They were devastated and put a hold on the project for a little over two years.

  1. Always on a Mountain When I Fall
  2. Big City
  3. Hungry Eyes
  4. Ramblin' fever
  5. I Wonder Where I'll Find You at Tonight
  6. California Cotton Fields
  7. Daddy Frank
  8. Old Man from the Mountain
  9. Kentucky Gambler
  10. Living With the Shades Pulled Down
  11. Farmer's Daughter
  12. When My Last Song Is Sung

Hats Off To Haggard - JD Crowe & Rickey Wasson

  • Artist: Crowe, JD
  • Product Code: 709951690444
  • Availability: Out Of Stock
  • £14.99

Tags: Hats Off To Haggard JD Crowe

The product is currently Out-of-Stock. Enter your email address below and we will notify you as soon as the product is available.