• Blue Kentucky Girl [Remastered] - Emmylou Harris

For Blue Kentucky Girl, the fifth release from Warner/Reprise, Emmylou Harris once again surrounds herself with the finest musicians in Nashville. This time you'll find guitarists James Burton and Albert Lee rubbing shoulders with fiddler/mandolin player Ricky Skaggs. Emmylou Harris as ever puts her complete heart and soul into every vocal performance, and defined the genre of neo-traditional country music of the 70's

Sweet sorrow is a key phrase that turns up on Blue Kentucky Girl, and that does a good job of describing the overall tone of this ten-song set. Inspired covers include the George Jones rarity Beneath Still Waters, which was to become a standard for Harris, and the Louvin Brothers' Every Time You Leave.

Released in 1979 this is probably the defining album of Emmylou Harris' determined march to take back country music, and sees less of her mixing folk and country. This version of Blue Kentucky Girl was remastered and extended in 2004 with two additional tracks included.

Listen to samples:

  1. Sister's Coming Home
  2. Beneath Still Waters
  3. Rough and Rocky
  4. Hickory Wind
  5. Save the Last Dance for Me
  6. Sorrow in the Wind
  7. They'll never take his love from me
  8. Everytime you Leave
  9. Blue Kentucky Girl
  10. Even Cowgirls get the Blues
  11. Cheatin' Is (Bonus Track - previously unreleased)
  12. I know an ending when it comes (Bonus Track - previously unreleased)

Blue Kentucky Girl [Remastered] - Emmylou Harris

  • Artist: Harris, Emmylou
  • Product Code: 081227811228
  • Availability: Stock Available
  • £12.99

Tags: Blue Kentucky Girl [Remastered] Emmylou Harris

The product is currently Out-of-Stock. Enter your email address below and we will notify you as soon as the product is available.