• Upland Stories - Robbie Fulks

Upland Stories continues and - with sprinklings of pedal steel, drums, electric guitar, and keyboards - expands the sound of Robbie Fulks' last acoustic set. 

Fulks' richly emotional storytelling is illuminated by his instrumental prowess and emotional voice. At 53, he is philosophically reflective, writing 'with clear eyes and a full heart' (Ken Tucker, NPR). Don't get us wrong, his wit is still as quick as his picking; but it's reflected through the lens of fatherhood, marriage, middle age, and the literary voices he is drawn to and draws from: Flannery O'Connor, Anton Chekhov, Mary Lavin, Frank O'Connor, Javier Marias, James Agee. 

Three new songs - Alabama at Night, America Is A Hard Religion and A Miracle - are meditations inspired by Agee's 1936 trip to Alabama, the sojourn that fueled his furious polemic on American poverty, Let Us Now Praise Famous Men

  1. Alabama At Night
  2. Baby Rocked Her Dolly
  3. Never Come Home
  4. Sarah Jane
  5. Aunt Peg's New Old Man
  6. Needed
  7. South Bend Soldiers On
  8. America Is A Hard Religion
  9. A Miracle
  10. Sweet As Sweet Comes
  11. Katy Kay
  12. Fare Thee Well, Carolina Gals

Upland Stories - Robbie Fulks

  • Artist: Fulks, Robbie
  • Product Code: 744302024226
  • Availability: Stock Available
  • £12.99

Tags: Upland Stories Robbie Fulks

The product is currently Out-of-Stock. Enter your email address below and we will notify you as soon as the product is available.