• Hard Bargain - Emmylou Harris

Hard Bargain is the follow-up to Emmylou Harris acclaimed 2008 release, All I Intended to Be. The new album, which comprises 11 new songs by Harris as well as two covers, was produced by Jay Joyce (Cage the Elephant, Patty Griffin).

We did the whole record in about a month, which is quite unusual for me. But I had all the material beforehand. Id written 11 of the 13 songs and I really wanted to include two more by other writers, Harris explains. One of the covers is Ron Sexsmiths Hard Bargain which I absolutely love. The other is by Jay Joyce, called Cross Yourself.

We did the whole thing with just three musicians, me being one of them. Jay, the producer, and Giles Reeves play everything between them. Its not a stripped down record though; theres only one song thats a little bare bones. Im basically a slow ballad-y person, but Jay managed to really move the songs up a bit. But they still have the same emotional feel.

1. The Road
2. Home Sweet Home
3. My Name Is Emmett Till
4. Goodnight Old World
5. New Orleans
6. Big Black Dog
7. Lonely Girl
8. Hard Bargain
9. Six White Cadillacs
10. The Ship on His Arm
11. Darlin Kate
12. Nobody
13. Cross Yourself

Hard Bargain - Emmylou Harris

  • Artist: Harris, Emmylou
  • Product Code: 075597978186
  • Availability: Stock Available
  • £12.99

Tags: Hard Bargain Emmylou Harris

The product is currently Out-of-Stock. Enter your email address below and we will notify you as soon as the product is available.