• Complicated Game - James McMurtry

James McMurtry spins stories with a poet's pen (Long Island Shores) and a painter's precision (She Loves Me). Proof: The acclaimed songwriter's new album Complicated Game. McMurtry's first collection in six years spotlights a craftsman in absolutely peak form as he turns from political toward personal (These Things I've Come to Know, You Got to Me). 

'The lyrical theme is mostly about relationships', McMurtry says. 'It's also a little about the big old world verses the poor little farmer or fisherman. I never make a conscious decision about what to write about.' 

First, recall blistering beats and gnashing guitars from his magnum opus Just Us Kids (2008). Now, unplug. 'The label head wanted more acoustic,' McMurtry explains. 'We built everything as we went so we ended up with more acoustic guitar as we went. We just played whatever sounded right for a given song, but we weren't necessarily saying this is an acoustic record.'

  1. Copper Canteen
  2. You Got to Me
  3. Ain't Got a Place
  4. She Loves Me
  5. How'm I Gonna Find You Now
  6. These Things I've Come to Know
  7. Deaver's Crossing
  8. Carlisle's Haul
  9. Forgotten Coast
  10. South Dakota
  11. Long Island Sound
  12. Cutter

Complicated Game - James McMurtry

  • Artist: McMurtry, James
  • Product Code: 889326045816
  • Availability: Stock Available
  • £12.99

Tags: Complicated Game James McMurtry

The product is currently Out-of-Stock. Enter your email address below and we will notify you as soon as the product is available.