• Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions - Robert Earl Keen

Mention the name Robert Earl Keen, and several descriptive terms spring to mind - Texas singer-songwriter, career artist, brilliant storyteller, sardonic humorist, poet of the strange and familiar. And now with the release of his latest album, Happy Prisoner, there is what may seem a surprising addition to that list - bluegrass singer.

'I've had a lifelong love of bluegrass,' says Keen. 'When I started playing, my first guitar hero was Norman Blake. In college, I had a bluegrass band called the Front Porch Boys, went to fiddle contests, learned a jillion fiddle and old-timey songs. My whole education in music started with bluegrass.'

Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions finds Keen re-teaming with producer Lloyd Maines. Helping it all fall together is Keen's longtime ace band, consisting of guitarist Rich Brotherton, bassist Bill Whitbeck, drummer Tom Van Schaik and steel guitarist Marty Muse, plus a star-studded cast of special guests, including Danny Barnes on banjo, Nickel Creek's Sara Watkins on fiddle and Lyle Lovett and Natalie Maines on vocals.

  1. Hot Corn, Cold Corn
  2. 52 Vincent Black Lightning
  3. Footprints In The Snow
  4. 99 Years For One Dark Day
  5. East Virginia Blues
  6. Poor Ellen Smith
  7. Long Black Veil
  8. This World Is Not My Home
  9. T For Texas (W/ Lyle Lovett)
  10. Peter Rowan Intro
  11. Walls Of Time
  12. White Dove
  13. Old Home Place
  14. Twisted Laurel
  15. Wayfaring Stranger (W/ Natalie Maines)

Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions - Robert Earl Keen

  • £12.99

Tags: Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions Robert Earl Keen

The product is currently Out-of-Stock. Enter your email address below and we will notify you as soon as the product is available.